Author Topic: Being Media Savvy  (Read 811 times)

Offline Beardy McFuckface

• Constant Poster
Being Media Savvy
« on: October 29, 2012, 04:41:06 PM »
Decided to contribute something for once, apart from my usual antagonism.

As a media student, I am not shocked by the amount of misinformation online and on various other mediums such as the press, television etc. In fact this is quite typical, as facts can be easily misconstrued, bias can be added or even worse; stuff can be completely made up.

However, it irks me on how so many people buy into such misinformation, believe it to be true and continue to mediate the same nonsense to others by various mediums, thus continuing the cycle. Reading misinformation is one thing, but following it is an incredibly dangerous path. People died from snake-oil type "cures", others sell their house to make shelters to protect their families from whatever doomsday conspiracy theory they've read somewhere.

Most of this mess can easily be sorted out if one applied basic critical thinking skills, something that any person can do. See both sides of the story, check various sources to see if there's conflicting information and make your own conclusion on the matter. Don't instantly believe something, even if it is compatible with your viewpoints and causes a kneejerk reaction. After all, when it comes to media what you're reading/seeing/hearing is only a representation of the truth. Basically, being a sceptic and generally being "media savvy". However it seems that most people don't. Very unusual when you think of it, and personally I think it is the result of ignorance or other factors.

Of course, no one is perfect. Humans can be easily mislead if someone says what they want to hear. I personally myself have been mislead multiple times, same with other people.

For the people on i2, I have to ask you this: Do you consider yourself being media savvy?

TheoK

Re: Being Media Savvy
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2012, 04:46:15 PM »